Version imprimablePrintable version
Studio Thor / Les Halles
27 May 2012 to 1 June 2012
meta_FAMILY

Julia Bardsley has embarked on a new phase of research and presentation models by creating the meta_FAMILY project.

 

 
 
The workshop

The idea of the Family is taken as the thematic core, where a framework of ‘exercises’ is established that structure the work but that allow participants to create, live & respond ‘in the moment’.

 

Julia is looking for an ensemble of performers to create a new manifestation of the project. This ensemble will form a generic family unit, within a gymnasium aesthetic and undergo training in order to become the meta_Family. The piece is presided over by the presence of The Step – a persona that is played by Julia as a cross between a coach, an umpire and a referee. The Step is a figure that is not connected to the Family by blood and therefore wields a particular control which is unique to the outsider.

 

According to Julia, a family is a variable unit of human beings that exists in multiple ways, with its own internal rules of operation and structuring protocols. Each family, although unique, has some generic elements. It is this archetypal image of family that the project explores – how the very attempts at constructing and sustaining a version of normality lead to tensions and unnatural suppressions that in turn manifest themselves in perverse co-dependencies and dysfunctional behavior. The space in which the meta_Family functions is a type of gymnasium – a site for organizing physical and psychological behavior, a zone of instruction, workout and the interplay of power dynamics. The intention is to modulate the conventions of both the family and the gymnasium to create a hybrid of both.

 

The meta_Family project is a work that is never complete, always modulating, resisting the fixed or the finished, being re-born in each new location, in each new home, with each new group of participating members.

 

At the end of the process there will be a public presentation of meta_Family at Festival Trouble #8.

 

In collaboration with Les Halles / Trouble #8

 

Auditions:

4 and 5 May, 11 - 5 pm at Les Halles Selection announced on the 7 May

If you want to be part of the project and do the audition, please send an email before the 15 April to cifas@cifas.be including a CV and something about yourself, your performance experience, why you want to be involved in the piece and which selection workshop day you would like to attend (4 or 5 May)

Julia Bardsley

Julia lives in London. She works in various combinations as director, performer, filmmaker, photographer and visual artist.

 

Modulating between performance and installation, she aims to offer the spectator and the artists involved a particular live experience. Often the role of the audience and the conventions of theater are questioned in a particularly immersive environment. Themeta_Family project was initially developed as part of coLABoratorio in Teresina & Rio, Brazil & for an AiR residency at Queen Mary University, London.

 

Her latest work Medea: Dark Matter Events, is an ongoing collaborative research project with Brazilian artist, Jacob Alves. Julia is co-partner of Barsley_Poppy projects with long-term collaborator Andrew Poppy. They recently completed phase one of Clube Redondo, experimental workshops with children, co-produced with casaBranca (Lisbon/Lagos).

 

Julia has previously presented her work at Festival Trouble in 2005 and 2008.

 

www.juliabardsley.net

Illustration
Astrid Yskout

Cifas (suite...) offers contemporary artists to illustrate its communication. Astrid Yskout illustrated the workshop "meta_Family"

Astrid Yskout (*1985) is a Belgian illustrator, working and living in Antwerp.

Her drawing style is loose and gestural, but also does contain the expression-filled strokes with heavy, decisive lines. She likes drawing by hand with simple materials like pencils and markers. Astrid uses a muted color palette that gives her drawings a feeling of antiquity and a sense of nostalgia.

Participation to the workshop is free of charge
Public Presentation: 1 June at Les Halles in the evening (rehearsal from 10 am).
Each participant will receive a small fee for the public presentation.
Physical performers (11 max)
English
Studio Thor
49 rue Saint-Josse
Brussels 1210
27-31 May, 10 – 6 pm

Subscriptions

Subscriptions
 
Fields with * are mandatory
(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)

If you do not receive an email confirming we have received your application, please contact Cifas:

Version imprimablePrintable version
Studio Thor / Les Halles
27 Mai 2012 > 1 Juin 2012
meta_Family
Julia Bardsley entreprend une nouvelle phase de recherches avec le projet meta_FAMILY.
 
 
Le stage

La notion de famille est ici le noyau thématique sur lequel se base un cadre d’ « exercices » structurant le travail, tout en permettant aux participants de créer, vivre et répondre « dans l’instant ».

Avec un ensemble d’artistes, Julia Bardsley veut ici créer une nouvelle manifestation du projet. Cet ensemble formera une unité familiale générique qui,  dans un cadre esthétique inspiré du gymnase, suivra un entrainement particulier afin de devenir la meta_FAMILY. La pièce est conduite par le Step, figure jouée par Julia Bardsley, qui représente un mélange entre un coach, un arbitre et un référent. Le Step n’est pas connecté par les liens du sang à la meta_FAMILY et opère donc un contrôle particulier et original sur celui-ci.

 

Selon Julia Bardsley, la famille est une unité variable composée d’êtres humains existant de différentes manières selon ses propres règles et protocoles. Chaque famille, bien qu’unique, a ses propres éléments génériques. Le projet entend explorer cette image archétypale de la famille ; comment l’envie de construire et de maintenir une certaine normalité mène à des tensions qui se manifestent sous forme de co-dépendances ou de comportements dysfonctionnels. L’espace dans lequel la meta_FAMILY évolue est un genre de gymnase – un lieu où organiser les comportements physiques et psychologiques, un lieu d’instruction, d’exercices où interchanger les dynamiques de pouvoir. Le but de ce travail est de moduler les conventions de la famille et du gymnase afin de créer une hybridation des deux entités.

 

Le projet meta_FAMILY est un travail qui évolue constamment, rien n’est jamais fixé, le projet diffère selon le contexte dans lequel il évolue et en fonction des personnes qui y participent.

 

A la fin du workshop, une étape de recherche sera présentée dans le cadre du festival Trouble #8.

 

En collaboration avec Les Halles / Trouble #8

 

Auditions

4 et 5.05.12, de 11 - 17h aux Halles. Sélection annoncée le 7.05.12.

Pour participer au projet et passer l’audition, veuillez envoyer un mail avant le 15.04.12 à cifas@cifas.be avec un CV, quelques lignes sur vous-même, sur votre expérience professionnelle, les raisons pour lesquelles vous voulez participer au projet et le jour qui vous convient le mieux pour les auditions (4 ou 5.05.12).

 

Julia Bardsley

Julia Bardsley vit à Londres. Elle est tour à tour metteure en scène, scénographe, performeure, réalisatrice, photographe et artiste visuelle.  Evoluant entre la performance et l’installation, elle cherche à offrir au public et aux artistes une expérience live particulière. Les conventions du théâtre et le rôle du public sont souvent remis en question dans un paysage sonore et visuel particulièrement sensible et immersif.

 

Le projet meta_FAMILY a vu le jour lors de coLABoratorio à Teresina et Rio au Brésil et lors de la résidence AiR à la Queen Mary University de Londres. Son dernier travail Medea: Dark Matter Events, est un projet de recherche collaborative avec l’artiste brésilien Jacob Alves. Julia est également co-partenaire du projet BARDSLEY_POPPY avec son collaborateur de longue date Andrew Poppy. Ils ont récemment achevé la première phase de Clube Redondo, ateliers expérimentaux avec des enfants produits par casaBranca (Lisbon/Lagos).

 

Son travail a déjà été présenté au Festival Trouble en 2005 et 2008.

 

www.juliabardsley.net

 

Illustration
Astrid Yskout

Cifas (suite...) fait appel à des dessinateurs contemporains pour illustrer sa communication.

Astrid Yskout a illustré le stage "meta_Family"

Le style de dessin d'Astrid Yskout est lâche et gestuel, mais contient aussi des traits expressifs, forts et déterminants. Elle aime dessiner à la main avec des matérieux simples comme des crayons et des marqueurs. Astrid utilise une palette de couleurs sourdes qui donne à ses dessins un caractère ancien et nostalgique.

La participation au stage est gratuite.
Présentation de fin de stage le 1er juin 2012 aux Halles en soirée (répétition à partir de 10h).
Chaque participant recevra une petite rémunération.
Acteurs physiques, performeurs, danseurs… (11 max)
Anglais
Studio Thor
49 rue Saint-Josse
Brussels 1210
27-31.05.12, de 10 à 18h

Subscriptions

Inscriptions
 
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf pdf doc docx.
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf pdf doc docx.

Les champs précédés d'une astérisque * sont obligatoires

(In case an organisation funds totally or partially your coming/stay in Brussels, On the Move and CIFAS can add their logo to the list of supporters.)
Les fichiers doivent peser moins de 4 Mo.
Extensions autorisées : txt rtf odf pdf doc docx.

Si vous ne recevez pas l'email confirmant la bonne réception de votre candidature, veuillez vous adresser au Cifas: