Version imprimablePrintable version
Théâtre les Tanneurs
27 September 2019 to 4 October 2019
Workshop

Mallika Taneja will be in Brussels in September and October and will lead a workshop inspired by Women Walk at Midnight, an initiative taking place in New Delhi, India.
 


This workshop is looking at questions arising at the messy intersections of performance, defiance and the mundane. By exploring the simple and somewhat unassuming act of walking in the studio and then placing ourselves onto the landscape of the city, this workshop will explore the performative possibilities of walking, both individually and collectively.

Taking off from the experiences of Women Walk at Midnight, an initiative in New Delhi, India, where groups of women meet in different parts of the city and stroll around past midnight, this workshop invites women from Brussels to place themselves in their city. We use this as a springboard to explore notions of gaze, the public and the private, consent and the need to ‘be careful’. The workshop will also tease out some questions around the ‘collective’, the claims to hold diversity, the place and space for an individual in it.

Each day, we will explore questions around our feminisms, collectives, diversity and consent through the act of walking and playing with gaze in the studio and then, by placing ourselves repeatedly on the scape of the city in areas chosen by the participants. We will bring particular awareness to the shifts in our bodies in the contrast of the controlled privacy of the studio and the public scrutiny of the street. The workshop will build on each days learning and invite participants to use the strength of the collective to explore any discomfort they might have with their surroundings.

This workshop is open to cis and trans* women.

Subscribtions to the workshop will be open very soon. Subscribe to our newsletter to be the first informed!
 

Midnight Walking


Walking as an act of assertion has been central to the feminist movement in India. From women walking around their villages beating steel utensils to demand rights to the quiet silent walks that we all embarked upon to mourn the death of Jyoti Pandey in December 2016, walking masses of people have always been a threat to the establishment.
But what if there is only one body at play? Does anyone notice? Does it matter?

In 2016, I decided to set out on a 24 hour walk. I was interested in the image of a body cutting through the landscape of the busy streets of Delhi, to walk continuously, to tire, and to walk in spite of the fatigue. The idea of letting the mind win over matter is for me, central to the idea of protest. At no point does one forget the gaze that the street of the city cast on the female body. This constant gaze makes walking a performative act. The difficulty of living in a city like Delhi is that at a certain point in the day, walking alone is not an option for women. And so began the process of walking post midnight as groups of women and this saw the birth of Women Walk at Midnight.


Women Walk at Midnight currently takes place every month in different neighbourhoods of Delhi each time led by a woman of that particular neighbourhood. On the eve of 15th of August, the 72nd independence day of India, women will undertake a 12 hour long walk, cutting across several neighbourhoods of Delhi. You may follow the initiative here.


The inspiration for the walks comes from Maya Krishna Rao’s theatre piece ‘Walk’.

Mallika Taneja


Mallika Taneja is a theatre artist living and working in New Delhi, India. She works closely with issues related to gender through her performances and interventions. She is interested in looking at the body against the vast backdrop of the city and studying how bodies occupy, ally and defy both individually and through finding community. Currently, Mallika tours her solo piece BE CAREFUL that speaks of victim blaming, the never ending responsibility on women and the unfortunate and ironic conflation between what women wear and the violence that is meted out on them. She is constructing a new work ALLEGEDLY that examines the cross sections of consent, law, truth, believability and memory and another work around the silences and stigma around mental illness.

In India, she is part of the collective ‘Women Walk at Midnight’ that organises a monthly stroll across different neighbourhoods in Delhi at ‘forbidden’ hours. She also has started to explore pleasure, feminism and performance through the Sex Chat Room, which is a starting point of a larger project called ‘My Hollow Feminism’.

She will be performing BE CAREFUL at Théâtre les Tanneurs from 24 September to 5 October (Sunday and Monday off). More info on the theatre's website

Follow Mallika Taneja's work on

www.facebook.com/GoodGirlFromGoodFamily/
Instagram/goodgirlfromgoodfamily

 

Photos : (c) Women Walk at Midnight

If you do not receive an email confirming we have received your application, please contact Cifas:

Version imprimablePrintable version
Théâtre les Tanneurs
27 Septembre 2019 > 4 Octobre 2019
Workshop

Mallika Taneja sera à Bruxelles en septembre et octobre et menera un workshop inspiré de Women Walk at Midnight, une initiative qui prend place à New Delhi tous les mois.

 

Le workshop se penche sur les questions qui se posent à l'intersection désordonnée de la performance, du défi et du banal. En explorant l'acte simple de marcher dans un studio pour ensuite se placer dans le paysage de la ville, ce workshop explorera les possibilités performatives de la marche, tant individuelle que collective.

Le workshop s'inspire des expériences de Women Walk at Midnight, une initiative qui prend place à New Delhi, en Inde, où des groupes de femmes se rencontrent dans différents quartiers de la ville et s'y promènent après minuit. Avec le CIFAS, Mallika invite les femmes de Bruxelles à se placer dans leur propre ville. Nous nous en servons comme d'un tremplin pour explorer les notions de regard, de public et de privé, de consentement et la nécessité d'être " prudent.e ". Le workshop permettra également de dégager quelques questions autour du "collectif", de la prétention à la diversité, de la place et de l'espace pour un individu au sein de ce collectif.

Chaque jour, nous explorerons des questions sur nos féminismes, les collectifs, la diversité et le consentement à travers l'acte de marcher et de jouer avec le regard dans l'atelier et ensuite, en nous plaçant de façon répétée dans le paysage de la ville, dans des zones choisies par les participant.e.s. Nous porterons une attention particulière aux changements de notre corps dans le contraste entre l'intimité maîtrisée du studio et la surveillance publique de la rue. Le workshop se construira au fur et à mesure des apprentissages de chaque journée et invitera les participant.e.s à utiliser la force du collectif pour explorer tout malaise qu'i.elles pourraient avoir avec leur environnement.

Cet atelier est ouvert aux femmes cis et trans*.

Marches de minuit


La marche comme acte d'affirmation a été au cœur du mouvement féministe en Inde. Des femmes qui se promènent dans leurs villages en battant des ustensiles d'acier pour réclamer des droits aux promenades silencieuses que nous avons toutes entreprises pour pleurer la mort de Jyoti Pandey en décembre 2016, les masses de personnes qui marchent ont toujours été une menace pour le pouvoir.
Mais s'il n'y a qu'un seul corps en jeu ? Est-ce qu'il est remarqué ? Est-ce que cela a de l'importance ?

Mallika Taneja: En 2016, j'ai décidé de partir pour une marche de 24 heures. Je m'intéressais à l'image d'un corps qui traverse le paysage des rues achalandées de Delhi, qui continue à marcher sans cesse, qui se fatiguer et continue tout de même. L'idée de laisser l'esprit l'emporter sur la matière est pour moi au cœur de l'idée de protestation. A aucun moment on n'oublie le regard que la rue urbaine jette sur le corps féminin. Ce regard constant fait de la marche un acte performatif. La difficulté de vivre dans une ville comme Delhi est qu'à un certain moment de la journée, marcher seule n'est pas une option pour les femmes. C'est ainsi qu'a commencé le processus de marche après minuit en groupes de femmes. Et c'est ainsi qu'est née l'initiative Women Walk at Midnight.

Women Walk at Midnight se déroule actuellement chaque mois dans différents quartiers de Delhi, chaque fois sous la direction d'une femme qui habite le quartier en question. A la veille du 15 août, 72e jour de l'indépendance de l'Inde, les femmes entreprendront une marche de 12 heures, traversant plusieurs quartiers de Delhi. Vous pourrez suivre l'initiative ici.

L'inspiration pour les marches vient de la pièce de théâtre 'Walk' de Maya Krishna Rao.

Mallika Taneja

Mallika Taneja est une artiste de théâtre qui vit et travaille à New Delhi, en Inde. Elle travaille en profondeur sur les questions liées au genre à travers ses performances et ses interventions. Elle s'intéresse à observer le corps dans le vaste décor de la ville et à étudier comment les corps occupent, défient et s'allient dans la ville, soit individuellement, soit en trouvant une communauté. À l'heure actuelle, Mallika est en tournée avec sa pièce solo intitulée BE CAREFUL qui parle du blâme de la victime, de la responsabilité sans fin des femmes et de l'amalgame malheureux et ironique entre la façon de se vêtir des femmes et la violence qui leur est infligée. Elle est en train de construire une nouvelle œuvre, ALLEGEDLY, qui examine le croisement du consentement, du droit, de la vérité, de la crédibilité et de la mémoire, ainsi qu'une autre œuvre autour des silences et de la stigmatisation entourant la maladie mentale.

En Inde, elle fait partie du collectif " Women Walk at Midnight " qui organise une promenade mensuelle dans différents quartiers de Delhi à des heures " interdites ". Elle a également commencé à explorer le plaisir, le féminisme et la performance à travers les Sex Chat Rooms, le point de départ d'un projet plus vaste appelé 'My Hollow Feminism'.

Elle se produira au Théâtre les Tanneurs du 24 septembre au 5 octobre (dimanche et lundi relâche). Plus d'infos sur le site du théâtre

Vous pouvez suivre le travail de Mallika sur
www.facebook.com/GoodGirlFromGoodFamily/
Instagram/goodgirlfromgoodfamily

Photos : (c) Women Walk at Midnight

Si vous ne recevez pas l'email confirmant la bonne réception de votre candidature, veuillez vous adresser au Cifas: